Anyone seen my memory?

Standard

It’s funny what sort of tricks the memory can play on you. I was reading Lars Walker’s  book, Troll Valley  (which I’ll review later this week), and early on came across a throw-away line about a book called “Mama’s Bank Account”, later made into a movie called “I Remember Mama”. He said that the book almost never mentioned church. My mind came to a full stop, while it processed this, because I thought that “I Remember Mama” was absolutely packed full of church references.

Fortunately, my mind started again after a couple of moments, and I remembered that I don’t think I actually read “Mama’s Bank Account,” though I once saw portions of “I Remember Mama” on TV. The books that I was thinking of were called “Papa’s Wife”, and “Papa’s Daughter”, by Thyra Ferre Bjorn. Those were entirely different books (for one thing, the family involved were Swedish, rather than Norwegian), though the theme’s probably similar, from what I remember. It’s probably been a good twenty years since I read those books, though. I probably should look them up to see if the library has them (I have looked them up at B&N, and they aren’t available as an eBook).

I’d say it’s a pain getting old, but I think my mind always tended to mix together things of a similar theme like that. Then again, it’s my proven faulty memory telling me so. 😉

 

(Note: MCPL doesn’t have the Papa’s Wife books, but I can get them through ILL)

