Loud Noises

Standard

Last night, while we were getting ready to head out, the wind was really blowing. It kept threatening rain, but we didn’t really see any at the time. I started hearing an intermittent crack-bang sound from outside, but had no idea what was causing it, so went to check. I started seeing flashes, too, so I was concerned it was something electrical.

Sure enough, when I got so where I could see what was going on, I saw flashes of light on the electrical wires, with the big bangs. They’d pop up here, or there, all along the wire, and I could see them through the trees.

I’ve seen those types of flashes before. Once was when a wire was down in our neighbors yard. We had called the electric company about it, and someone else apparently called the fire department, because they showed up too. That time, I think the explosive sounds were far louder, but that could be my memory playing tricks on me.

The last time I saw those flashes were at this house, during (or just after) an ice storm, which had coated the wires.

Of course, I called the electric company right away, and let them know that their wire was sparking. The wind had shifted while I was talking to them, and the sparks stopped, fortunately. It was a few hours before they sent over a truck (I was just thankful they didn’t wait until morning), and I didn’t envy the guy working out in the cold, wet, dark.

Hopefully they have fixed it. I guess we’ll find out the next time there’s a high wind like that.

