Trees (again)

Standard

I’ve mentioned before about some trees near us (that have been leaning out over the road, farther and farther every year, from how they’ve been trimmed to go around the electrical wires. Lately I’ve noticed some scrapes and what looks like patches on one of the trees, as if it’d been hit by trucks going by. Now, I’ll admit that I’m frequently not the most observant, and those marks could have been on the trees for months without me ever seeing them, but I’m taking them as a sign that the trees were starting to cause some navigational problems.

Apparently someone else thought so, too, since last week the main branches of the trees on the road side were cut off. I don’t know when, but it looks like it was probably a major undertaking, probably involving closing at least half the road.

I don’t think that will stop the gradual leaning of the trees until they have to be taken down, but maybe it’ll slow it some.

Nearer to home, there’s a tree that appears to have been girdled last fall. I don’t know why or how, whether with or without the permission of the owner. I’ve been keeping an eye on it when I walk Rocky. I know it can take a couple of years for a tree that’s been girdled to actually die, and I’ve been a bit curious as to the process. Right at the moment, it looks fine, the green leaves are coming out, just like all the other trees in the area, etc. It is possible that I’m mistaken, and it really wasn’t cut deep enough to actually be girdled all the way around, but I suppose we’ll wait for the next couple years to see.

It no doubt is just a silly conceit of mine to think that that must be a particularly painful way for a tree to die.

2 thoughts on “Trees (again)

  1. Neil Frandsen

    Porcupines and Rabbits are two of the tree-bark-eaters. Years of deep snow, the girdling is quite high up the trunk, as well.
    When branches on one side are removed, the tree has extra weight on the other side. Th growth of new trunk wood changes, to compensate, as well as the growth of new branches, to even out the total balance of the tree.
    Steady trimming, of the over-the-road branches, eventually results in the trees getting the idea, and slowing their enchroachments. The roadway is a tree-free volume, where a tree can expand without competition from neighbouring trees.

    Like

    • This looks more like someone took a chain-saw and took the bark off about half an inch deep and a quarter of an inch wide all the way around the tree.

      Like

Comments are closed.