Book Review: Storybound and Story’s End by Marissa Burt

Standard

Storybound (Storybound #1)Storybound by Marissa Burt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Storybound was one of the Barnes & Noble Free Friday’s books, and I enjoyed the book so much I paid for the second volume in the series, Story’s End. The books seem to be closely bound together plot-wise, which makes me wonder if Marissa Burt originally wrote it as one book, and Harper Collins divided it into two books because of the length. I’ve heard of such things happening before. Also, the Nook version tends to not give adequate notice when switching scenes. I’m assuming the print version does better.

All is not right in the Land of Story. Una Fairchild is Written In from the Land of Readers (presumably, but not necessarily, our world), and must work together with various Characters she meets to help overcome the Talemasters, and bring back the Muses and the King of Story.

One thing I really liked about the books were that they seemed crammed full of Christian imagery, especially the second book, once we meet and recognize the King. The imagery is subtle enough that it’s entirely possible the author didn’t even realize that she was putting it in, But portions of the final battle between the King and the Enemy reminded me strongly of images in Revelation 19, where Christ battles the Beast and the False Prophet. And portions of it doesn’t. Like I said, it’s subtle, and other people might not see it.

I do not know if Ms. Burt intends any more books in this universe, but I believe that this story concludes with Story’s End. There are other threads that could still be concluded, such as, will Una return to our world? Should she? but the main Good vs. Evil, save the universe, plotline has finished.

View all my reviews

