Review: The End of Your Life Book Club

Standard

The End of Your Life Book Club
The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

First of all, I enjoyed the book, for the most part. I don’t think it fully lived up to the potential of the first few paragraphs, but it was interesting, and kept me reading.
But there were several things in it that made me go “Huh?” I really don’t think that the author really understood books as well as he thought he did.

The first thing was minor. The author mentioned in passing the book “Johnny Tremain”, by Esther Forbes, saying that the main character in it was apprenticed to Paul Revere, and burnt his hand badly in an accident. That threw me out of the book, saying, “No, he wasn’t.” My husband pointed out that not only was he not apprenticed to Paul Revere, it also wasn’t entirely an accident that he burnt his hand.

Later on, the mother mentioned that she didn’t know anyone who liked both Tolkien’s and C.S. Lewis’s writings, another thing that made me go “Huh?” Everyone I know who enjoys reading Tolkien, also enjoys C.S. Lewis, though the reverse isn’t necessarily true. And a few other lines in there about both writers, made me think he didn’t really understand either.

The last third or so of the book, where it kept praising Obama, was also annoying. It didn’t seem to occur to the author that at least half of his potential audience would have voted against him, and maybe it might be a good idea to moderate his tone at least a little. (Or maybe it already was moderated, which is a scary thought.)

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The End of Your Life Book Club

  1. Pingback: URL

Comments are closed.