Writing Update

Standard

I’ve fallen behind on my blog posting again.

It’s not that I don’t have anything to write about. I’ve wanted to talk about the trip to the dentist last week (where the dentist complimented me on how well my teeth looked, until he took an X-ray), on the massed choir event on Sunday (which wasn’t as massed as it was in past years), and several other things I’m not remembering at the moment.

I like getting my blog posts written one day, and posting them at about 10 the next. But it hasn’t been happening this past week or so.

My poetry (such as it is), I’m a bit ahead on. I’ve got one written for Thanksgiving, a couple Christmas ones for Advent, and some others I’ve scheduled to post later. I still wish for the skill of the Sherman brothers, Sondheim, or even Dr Seuss, though. The older I get, the more I appreciate Dr Seuss.

My story is coming along well, though it isn’t the story I was trying to write over the summer. My characters rebelled on me, they all want to tell stories that happen at other times in their lives, not what happened when I was trying to write about. The event is still there, though, and an important event not only in their lives, but that world’s history. Maybe my characters will let me get back to it someday.

I still have the problem though, that I’d really rather write comedy, and all the stories they’re telling me are tragedy. I try to tell them that, though, and they just laugh at me. Maybe they think *my* life is comedy enough.

One thought on “Writing Update

Comments are closed.