Happy New Year!

Standard

 

 

This is the time of year when we pause to reflect what has gone before and what is coming up ahead, and what we intend to do to change it (hopefully for the better). Thus the making and breaking of New Year’s Resolutions.

Of course, I also do that most years, both making and breaking resolutions.

This year this is what I want to work towards:

  1. Daily Bible reading. I have done this most days for the past few months, though I was more remiss beforehand. Of course, it is all too easy to skip a day, which then turns into a week, then a month, and then it takes an effort to get it going again.
  2. Write (and post) at least one poem a week. I’ve been doing those on Sundays for the last couple of months, nearly every Sunday. I’ve fallen behind again during the holidays, but should be able to start it up again soon.
  3. Write (and post) three blog posts or more a week (not counting the poem). As you can see by looking over my past posts, they are sporadic at best. I’m hoping to improve in the new year. Of course, summer, holidays, and vacations will still make it difficult, but I’m hoping to make it a habit that I can keep up even then.
  4. Finish at least two of my stories/novels. I keep getting stories bubbling up in my head, two more for every one that I start working on. I need to pin down a story and finish it, while not letting the other ones try to take over.
  5. Don’t spend any money. This has been one of those years that our debt has grown rather than shrunk. (We’re still better off that way than we were a few years back, it’s just been an off-year, both because of choices we made, and things that have happened). I’m able to put together a budget that will cover everything, pay down our debt, and put a bit aside for savings and vacation, but only if we don’t spend anything.
  6. Watch the diet and exercise. I’ve got to keep my carbs down, or my blood sugar does weird things. I’ve also got to get back into getting to the pool a few times a week, and work on building up some muscle again.

None of these things are earth-shaking, of course. Pretty typical, actually. Most I’ve been doing, if not as consistently as I should. But the new year is a time to begin anew, and not let any failures of the past count against you.

