Attraction

Standard

Usually, I go out to do my writing (because there’s too much for me to do at home that distracts me, so I end the day with neither writing or other stuff done, and wonder where the day went). I tend to go either to McDonald’s, or the library. When I go to the library, no one bothers me, though I frequently get distracted by the books on the shelves. But when I go to McDonald’s, I am occasionally (not that often, really) interrupted by older gentlemen who come up and try to talk to me, and don’t move off after a couple of polite exchanges.

I was complaining about that to my husband recently, saying that I didn’t know if they were lonely, or thought I was lonely, but I really needed a polite way to brush them off and get back to my work. He suggested that I say just that. “I need to go back to my work.”

He also said it wasn’t a question of loneliness, but nature.

I’m there alone, there’s a possibility that I need someone in my life, so there’s a possibility that they could compete for me.

I hadn’t even considered that option before. It could be taken as flattering (though it’d be more flattering if the men who were doing the stopping and talking were, say, ten years younger). I’m a reasonably attractive (if overweight) mature woman. (My husband says I’m beautiful, but I think he’s biased.)

I’m not a sweet young thing, not dazzlingly beautiful, just ordinary, therefore possibly attainable.

Really, just an odd thing to think about. And now, since that’s been brought to my attention, it’ll probably never happen again.

Jonathan adds:

Not even serious competition, per say, just the fact that they can get a younger woman to pay attention to them, raises their value, and depending on the dynamic, possibly yours. Having options or prospects, choices, makes your more valuable, even if you never intend to take advantage of them.

