Story Update (An & Mattan)

Standard

I’ve been meaning to put up a blog post all week (it’s Thursday now). Monday and Wednesday I didn’t write one, because the words were flowing so well on my story, and I didn’t want to interrupt them to write out a blog. Tuesday, I didn’t write one because the words absolutely refused to flow, and I gave up, and went home early. Of the two, I think Monday and Wednesday’s excuse is far more understandable.

I’ve figured out what I’ve written so far is probably between 35,000 and 45,000 words (depending on how I guesstimate how many words are on a page). The larger number feels more accurate to me, but that might just be wishful thinking. I’ve nearly filled up three notebooks (just two partial sections left, I need to pull out a new one to work on). I’m guessing the story length might double as I start connecting the pieces together.

Considering I’ve been working on this seriously since November (it probably was floating around my head for about a year before that), that works out to less than 1,000 words per day, even taking out weekends and holidays. So, yes, I’m slow. (Yes, I know it would be quicker to just type it up rather than write it out. Shut up.)

On the other hand, that’s more than I’ve been able to get on a story in probably close to thirty years. I’ve got lots of other things started, but that I’ve run out of energy/time/whatever before I get to the point where I’m actually feeling I’ve got a good framework on paper.

I’m thinking that I’ll probably have another 10,000 story chunk ready to put out for you in a week or so. If I don’t, someone remind me of it, ok?

So, anyway, I’m figuring that if I’ve written about half the book, maybe more, in a month and a half, then (assuming I can keep going, and life doesn’t get in the way) I should be able to finish this rough draft by the end of March, God willin’ and the creek don’t rise.

Then will come the harder, and far less fun, work of editing the blasted thing.

An & Mattan, Part 1

2 thoughts on “Story Update (An & Mattan)

  1. My brother tells me that he writes longhand because then when he types it up, he inevitably does some initial editing as he types which takes care of the first round of that process.

    He also participates in a campaign to write 50,000 words in November. So, throughout the year, he does research for his upcoming book and editing/other details on the one he wrote during the previous November. So far, he has published two children’s novels and is now working on a 3rd, although he didn’t hit his quota of words this November now that he has a day job so I guess he’s a bit behind schedule on this novel.

    Like

    • I’ve done NaNoWriMo before, but the contest/drama aspect of it started getting to me. (I had drama when I told everyone I was doing it, told only one person I was doing it, and told no one whether I was doing it or not. After that, I gave up.)

      Like

Comments are closed.