Fall Weather

Standard

I’ve always liked fall and spring, the time of year when it’s not too hot or too cold, and I can be comfortable by either putting on or taking off a sweater. It’s better when we can open the windows, but that temperature rarely lasts too long here.

I don’t tend to like the cold rain that also tends to come at this time of year. Especially when it lasts days on end.

We’ve had a pretty good fall so far this year, few days of rain, few days that were super cold.

I think that’s coming to an end (at least for now). There’s a front moving in that is rapidly dropping the temperature, and it’s supposed to be far colder tomorrow. I think I may have noticed it move in. I didn’t see it, no big band of clouds grabbed my attention. But I looked out the window, and realized that the wind was blowing (which was probably why I had started to feel cold inside the house), and the leaves were really falling. It almost looked like the huge flakes of snow that sometimes fall, only red and brown instead of white.

I don’t know how soon the real snow is going to fall. We probably should have the kids rake up the leaves before it starts happening, though. We had them at least clear off the driveway over the weekend. Not that you could tell they had done anything by the time they were finished, though.